Son. Home. Work. Church. Hometown. (Lather. Rinse. Repeat as necessary.) That’s been my life for the past 4 years or so. I might have gotten out with friends every once in a while, but I always spent that time with the same people in most of the same places. Not that I don’t love those people and places, but I felt the need for change in my life. I felt compelled, as 2013 was ending, to meet new people and have new experiences. However, I couldn’t expect different results doing the same things I had always done. Hello, Insanity!

(Enter hometown friend with a bright idea)

Image

So, last night, I took advantage of an opportunity to hang out with a group of entertaining people. (Somehow, entertaining doesn’t quite cover it, but it’ll do for now.) It was the most fun I’d had in quite some time. New faces, new situations, and common interests all combined to create an evening that I’ll never forget and marks the beginning of what can only be termed a fascinating year for us all. I’m excited about and full of wonder at this mixed group of misfits (myself included) who have been meshed together by one clever thought. I cannot wait to see what’s in store for the rest of the year. So…

(raises glass)

Cheers, Y’all! Here’s to fun times for years to come and sparks of genius! Thanks, Shaun!

