Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Ever wonder why things seem to happen to you that just don’t seem fair, or it may seem as if people strike out against you for no apparent reason. Let’s see if I can shed a little light for you.

Our current positions in life speak nothing of our predestined outcomes. I now find myself in a place in my life where I happen to be surrounded by a great group of people, and we all happen to believe we are destined for some pretty AWESOME things. (A bit audacious aren’t we?)

Well, about a week and a half ago, I was having a discussion with one of these “great” people who happened to be experiencing some troubling circumstances. There had been a seemingly undeserved lash-out against her, and in that moment she could not understand why this thing was happening to her. Being the “good” friend, I was totally pissed on her behalf. Believe me. When she finished telling me the problem, heads could have been rolling all over the place! However, as any truly good friend knows, only one of you should be overwhelmingly upset at the same time about the same thing. Somebody has to think. So, I put my thinking cap on and said to her, “If you’re gonna do great things, you’ve got to suck this up and keep going; because this is going to happen on a larger scale! This is only preparation for what is to come, and are you ready?”

Shortly after noon yesterday, I found myself in a rather peculiar position. HER position! Not even two weeks later! Can you believe it? I’d had such a great morning, too. So, I was really outdone by this seemingly unfair thing. I tried to be a “big girl” about it. You know. Dismiss it. Wave it off. Pray. But nothing was working. Anger, disappointment, hurt all just gathered inside me and took up residence for pretty much the rest of the day. The why-me syndrome was in full effect. I sulked and wallowed and even went to bed early, because I just couldn’t figure this thing out. It was plaguing me on a level that I hadn’t experienced in quite some time.

I woke up this morning still wondering “Why?” and had every intention of contacting my “great” friend on the phone and setting up lunch so I could have a chance to discuss it with her today. (We call this a “bitch session.”) Yet, as I was reading this morning, I thought back to our conversation a week and a half ago, and my words hit me squarely in the face. I needed to put on my big girl drawers, suck this up, and keep going. I questioned myself. “Am I truly ready for the greatness that is to come?” Then, I said to myself, “This will happen again in a more magnified setting.”

The words that follow are not profound but are based on a premise that I’ve heard all my life. The point of going through trying circumstances is not at all about what happened but about your reaction to what happened. Yes, we may wallow. Yes, we may feel horrible. Yes, we ask, “Why me?” The ultimate question is this. How long will it take you to get over it and recognize it as a stepping stone to your destiny? Whatever has occurred will quite likely occur again. History has this funny way of repeating itself. The next question you must ask yourself is: “Will I be ready to face it head on when it does, or will I allow it to cripple me?”

Personally, I would rather not hobble into my greatness but walk with my head held high and with the knowledge that I can get through whatever trial comes my way, because I have gotten through this before with my spirit intact. As one of my best friends would say, “I’ve been there. Done that. Got the t-shirt, AND the postcard.”

We all possess potential greatness. Whether or not we achieve it is up to us and the attitudes we choose. So, if you have indeed embraced your potential for this awesome thing you are to do, the question is…

Will you walk or hobble?

