My mom LOVES Stein Mart! Personally, I don’t, but I accompanied her anyway one Saturday. Needless to say, while she shopped I went strolling around the store. Looking at knick-knacks that I’d never buy is always fun.
As I was walking among them, I ran across a display of rectangular plaques. I cannot resist a good funny or a well-placed sarcastic remark. So, I stopped and stood there laughing as I read them. One, however, was about to affect change in my life. It read, “Well behaved women rarely make history.” At that time I was going through a divorce and was in a difficult, personal place; and the words grabbed me by the throat and demanded my attention. They were so meaningful that-as I attempted to walk away-I was dragged back to set eyes on it once again. In that moment I knew I HAD to have it; and having little money, decided to purchase it anyway.
The plaque brought to mind all the women I am familiar with who have made the history books or were important to me in some way or other. I couldn’t think of one that hadn’t dared to “go against the grain.” Ruth (of Biblical infamy), Harriet Tubman, Joan of Arc, Madame C.J. Walker, Barbara Walker, Robin Roberts, Oprah Winfrey, my Bigma, my mom. The list could go on and on.
As I awake each morning and cross my bedroom, I am confronted with these words and reminded of the greatness that can be and is me if I choose to be different in some way. Misbehave. See things in a new light. Choose the path less traveled. Find the long-sought-after answer to some unsolvable problem. Play in syncopation. Sing off-key. Get out of what-if land and crossover to the can-do kingdom.
In life, in my passions, in relationships, in love; I choose not to play fairly anymore.
So, when you question what I’m doing and if somehow it just doesn’t seem “right” to you; please know that I’m MISBEHAVIN’!!

